Tuesday, March 21, 2023

What is the Selection Procedure for 9 GEMS Scholarship?

EducationWhat is the Selection Procedure for 9 GEMS Scholarship?

In today’s competitive age, standing ahead of the crowd and being unique is one of the most important traits every student must aspire for. Besides knowledge, you also must have a skill set which differentiates you from the other students. While inculcating this skill is important for the schools through their curriculum, promoting and appreciating such students is also important.

Global Indian International School (GIIS) nurtures students as future global citizens through their award-winning education framework and imbibes universal values in the students. GIIS aids students in identifying their strengths and weaknesses through proper guidance and encouragement in the form of scholarships and other awards.

9 GEMS scholarship

An award-winning methodology, 9GEMS framework helps students in keeping up with the changing times. The entire model is developed for holistic grooming of the students so that they can hone their skills and build up their personalities to become a well-rounded citizen.

The framework is aimed at balancing academics and extracurricular activities to make the entire ecosystem of GIIS more progressive and student-oriented. The 9GEMS framework of GIIS is internationally recognised as one of the best educational practices. Each design and learning space has been curated to provide a unique learning experience.

Features of the 9 GEMS Scholarship

All the students studying at various branches of GIIS in India can apply for the 9 GEMS scholarship. However, students must fulfil certain eligibility criteria before applying.

1.      Grades: The 9 GEMS scholarship is applicable for the CBSE board students of grade 6-12 only.

2.      Tenure: The scholarship tenure for 9 GEMS Holistic Development Scholarship is one year.

3.      Eligibility criteria: The eligibility criteria for 9 GEMS scholarship are:

a)      The applicant must be an Indian Citizen.

b)     The student must have received recognition at regional, national or international level, in the fields of sport, co-curricular activities (including visual and performing arts), community service, innovation and entrepreneurship or showed extraordinary leadership skills.

If the students qualify the above criteria, then they can apply for the GIIS 9 GEMS Holistic Development Scholarship in any of the 9 GEMS category, such as:

Creative and Performing Arts

For all the enthusiastic specialists and entertainers, who are in the top 70th percentile in their group and are dedicated to focusing on their chosen field of 9 GEMS scholarship.


Sports grant is likewise offered to the students in the top 70th percentile in their group, who have played for the last 3-5 years in regional or worldwide competitions.

Innovation and Digital Technology

For students interested in the field of advancement and computerised innovation,9 GEMS offers a grant to motivate them and follow their pursuit.

How to apply for the GIIS scholarship?

If you believe you are one of the students who can get the 9 GEMS scholarship, then simply follow the steps below to apply for the scholarship.

  • Step 1: Visit the GIIS website for the application form and fill in all your relevant details.
  • Step 2: Upload all the necessary documents such as the academic records of the past two years, certificates, awards and other supporting documents relating to one of the 9 GEMS categories. A cover letter will help in showcasing your talent personally and leave a  positive impression on the board members.
  • Step 3: Once submitted, if your application is accepted, then you will be notified via email within the next ten working days.
  • Step 4: An assessment of all the chosen candidates will be done, followed by an interview (if applicable)
  • Step 5: Based on the documents uploaded and the assessment, candidates are selected for the scholarship, and the scholarship will be disbursed subsequently.

Scholarship Value

Once you have been accepted for the scholarship, you should consider yourself privileged to be chosen from the thousands of applications received. The scholarship value is decided based on your past performance. The stipulated scholarship value to be awarded is divided into three categories based on the level of a student’s recognition:

Category A: Students who have received recognition in an International event associated with any of 9 GEMS skills. These students receive a 20% waiver on the tuition fees.

Category B: Students who have received recognition in a national event associated with any of 9 GEMS skills. These students receive a 15% waiver on the tuition fees.

Category C: Students who have received recognition in a regional or state-level event associated with any of 9 GEMS skills. These students receive a 10% waiver on the tuition fees.

9 GEMS is one of the most prestigious academic frameworks around the world that focuses on the holistic development of the students and honing their talents in specific fields. It has also won the prestigious Golden Peacock Award for Innovative Product and the Service Award 2014 by the Institute of Directors.

More From Author